PPC Terminology

IS – Impression Share: The number of impressions you’ve received compared to the estimated number of impressions you were eligible to receive. Eligibility is based on your current ads’ targeting settings, approval statuses, bids, and Quality Scores.

CTR – Click Thru Rate: The percentage of people that clicked on your ad after being served an impression.

CPC – Cost Per Click: The average price you pay every time someone clicks on your ad.

Conv. – Conversion: An action that someone takes (after clicking on your ad) that you’ve defined as valuable to your business. Examples include Phone Calls, Form Submissions, Live Chat.

CR – Conversion Rate (Conv. Rate): The percentage of users who take a desired action after clicking on your ad.

CPA – Cost Per Acquisition: Also known as CPL (Cost Per Lead) or  Cost per Conv. (Cost per Conversion). Represents how successful an ad is in achieving its goal based on the total cost of that ad. For example, an ad campaign costs $50 for 50 views, and 5 conversions were generated. The Cost Per Conversion=$50/5 conversions, resulting in $10 per conversion.